In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Urbanization is evident globally where residents from the countryside are relocating to urban areas, resulting in a decline in the rural population. In my view, I am convinced that this phenomenon has a positive impact on society. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elucidate the reasoning supporting my perspective. One of the key reasons to push for urban relocation is job opportunities. Notably, the employment rate of cities is considerably higher compared to that of rural locales. For example, according to a U.S. government survey conducted in 2023, the employment rate in rural areas is only 20% as compared to 70% in urban areas. Due to the dense population, there is a need for a significantly larger workforce. Besides, the variety of jobs available in rural parts of the country is usually relatively limited. Conversely, metropolitans provide an array of job positions that allow individuals to choose jobs that match their strengths and talents. Apart from job security, healthcare is another apparent reason for migrants to move out of the rural. City hubs are usually equipped with comprehensive medical infrastructures. This encompasses not only the quantity of hospitals and clinics available but also the quality of service provided. Because of economy of scale, healthcare institutions in cities are usually granted a noticeably higher budget. This allows them to procure state-of-the-art medical equipment which provides cures to otherwise untreatable diseases. To conclude, it is apparent that urbanization brings remarkable improvements to migrants' quality of life and I assert that this phenomenon brings a positive influence on society as a whole.