Nowadays, many people send their children to boarding schools so that they can have time to work. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Boarding schools are becoming popular because it allows parents to have more time for career paths instead of being disturbed by children. Although there are many benefits of letting toddlers have daily life with friends, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks are far more significant. On the one hand, kids who study in boarding schools can have more chances to improve their interacting skills. They might meet friends from different backgrounds who share accommodation with them, therefore, kids will be more confident in communicating with peer support. It is important for them to exchange ideas to figure out the problems and increase their knowledge. Moreover, adolescents are trained to be more independent from family. For example, students in preparatory school have to set their own schedules to do household chores such as cleaning the floors, doing laundry and learning. This is the opportunity for them to be mature at a young age as they are allowed to manage their time appropriately. On the other hand, this trend also brings some disadvantages. Firstly, when youth spend a long period of time away from their families, it will reduce the bonding between parents and their offspring. It is because being absent from reunion and family gatherings may lead them to a loose connection with their relatives and siblings. Furthermore, children who have introverted characteristics might have to face homesickness. It impacts tremendously the mental health of growing teenagers. They might be exposed to psychological diseases such as autism and anxiety. In conclusion, while it is difficult to deny the benefits of attending boarding school, I still prefer the traditional learning environment for the youngsters.