Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that the long term imprisonment is one of the best way to combat crime. However, some of them think about various better alternative methods to reduce offends.There are both views of this notion as well as my own perception in this essay. On the one hand, most people think that the offenders must be kept in prisons for long time period in order to deducting the crimes as criminals deter from long term imprisonment and they will not commit offends again and again as they can be known about the adverse consequences of reoffends. Hence, culprits will avoid to crimes. Moreover, criminals who are very dangerous for society, such as Serial killers,Murderers can not be made mix with the society. Besides this, if such culprits will free soon they will harm to the society again. Therefore, criminals who make heinous crimes must be kept behind the walls for long term. On the other hand, some people believe in alternative ways for reducing crime rate, as in traditional jails criminals learn more about crime and they leave prison to commit even more crimes. In other words, long term imprisonment act as a university of crime for offenders. That is why, government should adopt other methods such as vocational education and training of work to pickpockets and shoplifters because it is well-known fact that poverty, illiteracy and unemployment are root causes of illegal activities. Hence, authorities must be chose other alternatives rather than long prison sentences for all culprits. To be concluded, in my opine, multitudes who commit heinous actions, such as serial killers, rapists as well as murderers also must be kept in the jails. Nevertheless, government should adopt other better ways for small scale law brokers in order to decline critical crises.