In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that public transport is one of the fundamental parts of any country. In a number of countries, while some people claim that it is necessary to allocate large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for ultra-fast trains between cities, it is my opinion that it is better to spend this money on improving the current public transport network. On the one hand, building a new infrastructure for fast trains may be beneficial for society and individuals. This is because there are a substantial number of people who commute between cities using trains for different purposes. For example, in my country, many people use to train to travel to Cairo to either study or work on a daily basis. Moreover, there are other people who use trains to visit their relatives. Therefore, if there will be an enhanced faster train in service, people will feel a sense of relaxing because they will spend shorter times in travelling. As a result, people will feel less stressed and will be motivated to be productive. On the other hand, I believe that spending money on improving the existing public transport is a top priority. The reason for this is that improving the current trains will take a short time to be completed and this will help in resolving multiple issues. For instance, if the current trains are upgraded, many people who already suffer from spending longer time travelling will find it much easier and reliable to use trains. What is more, the current old trains produce toxic fumes that harm the atmosphere. With that in mind, if these old trains will be replaced with new electric fast trains, the air pollution will start to decrease. Furthermore, the negative effects of pollution will be mitigated in the long run. In conclusion, it is true that constructing new railways for faster trains might benefit society, but spending a lot of money to improve the current public transport network can be more beneficial. Therefore, I am inclined to support the idea of improving the old trains because it will facilitate people ’s lives in a shorter time and will contribute to combating the negative effects of pollution.