Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many advocate the idea that majority of food production must be conducted locally in order to reduce dependency on foreign countries in this aspect, while others find importing nutrient products a viable option. I firmly agree with the latter view on the grounds that not every country is capable of producing sufficient amount of food products at home, and any barriers in food supply can impose graver challenges. To begin with, aspiring to grow and manufacture all food products without foriegn import could have economic benefits. Many states thrive to make their trade balance positive in this field for it can have numerous financial achievements for the country. For instance, Japan is one of the countries that produces a vast amount of produce and exports it to all over the world, gaining much revenue and foreign investments from this. However, not all countries are capable of achieving this due to lack of technological advancements in agriculture as well as environmental factors. Nonetheless, solely depending on homegrown and manufactured food products can limit the range and variety of nutrients available to the public. As a result, people would have less healthy and wholesome meals. To illustrate, North Korea barely engages in trading food for its population, hence the people are facing malnourishment and other medical problems. Moreover, in a free economy, principles of supply of demand suggest that limited supply causes a hike in prices. Therefore, if certain foods are not easily accessable, there will be an increase in prices which ultimately decreases the standard of living in a country. In conclusion, although some argue that we ought to ensure the entire food products consumed in a country should be produced domestically, in my opinion, this practice should be avoided as it could bring about health and economic implications.