Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays it is quite common to see elderly people having difficulties using the newest technology. The biggest cause of this issue is because they have not learned how to use them since they were younger and learn skills in adulthood often require a bit more effort. Thus, in order to minimize these causes some improvements must be taken, such as education and efficient manuals. To begin with, one of the main reasons for this problem is because elder people feel uncomfortable asking someone for help, since in most cases, their children who should show them how to use smartphones and computers are busy or do not have the patience to teach them since to learn new abilities after became adult request a bit more time and training. Another common reason for this issue is the manual that follows the devices is not efficient as it should be, the majority of them has plenty of useless information instead of practice and interactive examples. As every problem has a solution, I believe that the best way to get around this is to train the elderly to become familiar with these technological items. It should be a good idea for companies to set up a training centre at the point of sale, even if they charge for it. Furthermore, the manuals must be recreated for other styles that are easier to read, for example. Another improvement is related to learning at home, children should have more patience with their parents and grandparents, as they tried to overcome their limits to adapt to our reality. To sum up, although parents cannot be taught as easily as they used to be they definitely can learn everything they want since we help them.