Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, a certain group of individuals wants to start their own business instead of working as an employee for other employers. This essay will elaborate further about the reasons for the same and describe the drawbacks of being self-employment. Firstly, the main cause for the aforementioned is job security. Staff feels less secure about their job when working with any firm. In this new era, many students are acquiring professional degrees every year and corporates prefers to hire young and fresh faces, which eventually leads to the termination of an old and experienced employee due to their salary and age. For instance, one of my friends who worked with " HCL Infosystems" for almost 17 years and now sitting at home without any job while his responsibilities have been handed over to a trainee because the company wants to alleviate the overall expenditure and need to increase the yearly profit. Hence, most people desire to set up their own businesses to avoid such challenges. On the other hand, running your own business may have some disadvantages. The biggest drawback could be the business stability at an initial stage or even a failure. Although, multiple factors can be responsible for the same, however the most common is lack of knowledge, capital and experience. For example, many startup companies are registered every year but only some are able to sustain. As per the survey conducted by "Global Revenue Firms", 80 per cent of new startups never filed income tax returns in their first years themselves because such companies were shut down every before they started up operating in the market. TO conclude, although some individuals may decide to be self-employed, instead of doing the job for other organisations, however it comes with several drawbacks as well.