In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic?

Undoubtedly, ambition becomes more and more pivotal in contemporary life, even it overrides the talents and resources. As it drives people to advance and accomplish their goals, being ambitious is a worthwhile personality trait. Firstly, having ambition is the biggest motivation for people to make such an effort to achieve their goal. Each person has their own dream, however, it only becomes ambition when you are strongly determined to possess something. In simple words, being ambitious motivates people to work as hard as they can or even beyond their ability, regardless of any barriers. Moreover, people seeking out their ambition would make it easier to realise their ideal job and become the better version of themselves. In fact, large global companies prefer to choose who is able to show their desire to be successful which allows them to devote themselves entirely to the job. Thus, it shows how important ambition is to accomplish their aims. However, this characteristic has both positive and negative influences on people's way to succeed.On the one hand, ambition is considered as a catalyst that pushes people over their limit, thus, fulfilling their dreams. It is the fact that a great number of success achievers are likely to be really ambitious. In contrast, some people who are too ambitious often perceive the world as a battle where they need to surpass anyone to accomplish what they have set their mind on, which sometimes leads to devastating consequences. Let take the famous Hitler as an example, his addiction to power as well as his dream to conquer the world were main causes for the death of thousands of people. In conclusion, it is undeniable that ambition is an essential element for people to achieve success; nevertheless, from my point of view, this trait also brings both benefits and drawbacks to people's lives. Therefore, people should have their ambition in limit that is equivalent to their talent.