Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that the cost of renovating old buildings is a great financial undertaking, requiring funds that could be spent elsewhere. Whilst it is important build new housing and roads in cities, I don’t think this should be at the expense of maintaining and renovating our old buildings. Our old buildings are a link to the past, part of our cultural heritage. Replacing old buildings not only ruins the aesthetics of our cities but means some architectural styles will be lost forever. Additionally, these buildings are important for our younger and future generations to learn about the past and a source of enjoyment as people revel in their diverse and often pleasing architecture. Furthermore, these buildings are also tourist attractions. They bring tourists into cities, benefitting the wider community and contributing funding to their maintenance. This contributes to the countries economies and are therefore not always such a burden to city spending budgets. Moreover, many people actively raise funds for these buildings and this should be widely publicised to encourage more members of the local community to get involved in preserving their heritage. However, we cannot deny that our cities are expanding rapidly as more people move for either work or relocate from other countries. We therefore need new housing and effective transport systems. This should be carefully considered to avoid turning our cities into ugly concrete jungles, maybe emanating the styles of the old architecture we have in place. Furthermore, care should be taken that the plans consider the environmental impacts so as not to damage our environment. Overall, I think money should be spent to maintain old buildings. We need to see the bigger picture, old buildings bring in revenue, so we should assess their value to our local economies. They are our heritage and should be maintained and new developments should complement our diverse architecture.