Some countries are considering imposing curfews in which teenagers will not be allowed outdoors at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this policy?

Some nations have the notion that allowing teens to go out at night without adult’s supervision needs to be controlled by passing new laws such as curfew. I totally agree with this because it is favourable for teenagers in the areas of behaviour and safety. Adolescents are more likely to make quick decisions without analyzing, which can lead them to misbehave. In addition, many young people on the streets at night are under the influence and engage in anti-social activities. If decent children go out at night and join these people, they will also get used to bad habits such as pickpocketing or drunkenness. Therefore, banning going out alone, particularly for teens at night, can significantly reduce the ratio of juvenile criminal activities. However, as children are allowed to go out with caretakers or parents, this new law will not affect their freedom. Furthermore, when young people are outdoors at night, safety issues can arise as they do not have experience with society. There are fraudsters everywhere at night, and children can be easily deceived by these people. Despite there being a gang of teens, they are still vulnerable to thieves since they have less experience with their safety, especially at night. If teenagers are accompanied by adults, adults can identify threats earlier, and they know how to deal with such difficult situations. Thus, introducing new laws for prohibiting going out at night can have long-term safety benefits on teens, although it is not a prima-facie attractive idea. In conclusion, the idea of imposing a curfew at night for teenagers is a wise decision to deter them from going out as it can be dangerous for their attitudes and safety. So, as these young people play a major role in society in the future, ensuring their quality and safety is the government’s responsibility.