Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it has been expressed by many people the importance of being able to speak, read, write and listen as well in various languages. This is an essential knowledge that can give you access to be offered magnificent opportunities. On the one hand, the fact of totally being able to interact with communities from other countries could mean the possibility to work abroad. This could even lead to reaching considerable job positions, such as in finances in important cities namely London or New York, where currently the most talented ones are being proposed to be directors of their teams. Moreover, when it comes to travel around the world, languages facilitate the way of communication between locals and foreigners. Not only is useful for understanding the population but for getting to know better the culture. For instance, from being able to order a menu at a restaurant to comprehend the history and meaning of a tradition. On the other hand, languages could also be advantageous for teenagers to study overseas. In this way, many of them are able to study at prestigious universities such as Harvard or Oxford. By contrast, some people want to learn a foreign language for other purposes, for example, watching documentaries or movies, reading books or articles. Therefore, this way enhances our personal and professional growth process, and could open us many doors. In conclusion, we are currently able to easily learn a new language which can give us huge opportunities either to work, travel or to being able to communicate in different ways. Although in my opinion, it is true that most of us use the knowledge of a foreign language to achieve a better life, relating this with our personal career and trips.