In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

In many countries, development in cities has been occuring in much faster pace than in rural areas. Thereupon, life in urban areas has improved significantly, whereas citizens in the countryside are still deprived of many new facilities. Undoubtedly, there will be issues arising from this gap. This essay elaborates these problems and suggests remedies to tackle them. One of the major problems that a country might face is wider gap between the rich and the poor. Societal injustice can cause disharmony, and national unity could be sabotaged. For instance, in India, farmers union hold strikes to demostrate their frustration with low standard of living, while citizens in big cities enjoy higher buying power than ever before. Another possible problem is a massive wave of migration from rural to urban areas. If people living in villages struggle to make ends meet, they will move to big cities with the hope of earning a better income. This imposes grave challenges in many aspects, such as agriculture, labour market, and population density. Governments can take necessary steps to mitigate the gap in rural and urban areas. First and foremost, budget allocation should be amended accordingly. Most budget plannings are designed based on population density, while this mindset should be adjusted based on the significance and potentials of the area. To illustrate, many villages have small population because most of the land is used for farming. States can allocate budgets to assist these rural citizens in developing for the future with solar panels, or up-to-date agricultural technology. Lastly, educational programs in business marketing could be provided to citizens of rural areas to help them adjust to new realities of the business world; therefore, increasing their chances of earning income from where they live without the need to migrate. To summarize, it is evident that instrastrutural developments are happening with a much more rapid speed in cities as compared to rural areas. As a result, there could be social and economical issues which governments need to address via budgeting and direct engagement.