Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. Why is this? What problems does this cause?

In the present day, the number of people living in metropolitan cities has been increasingly popular in our society. Although this situation happens since the individuals are seeking better opportunities, a variety of negative consequences can be presented. This essay will discuss why this phenomenon happens and what problems can be resulted from it. First and foremost, in the fast-paced world and with the advance of globalization, most people move to enormous urban centres to have more opportunities for jobs and studies since in the countryside these chances are much more limited. For instance, when a young man can study in a prestigious university the likelihood of him getting a job in a famous company is much bigger, different from a guy living in a small city without many ambitions. Therefore, metropolitan cities are the first option for younger people who would like to embark on a career. This development can have not only positive results but also negative impacts on society. Urbanization soaring at a swift velocity can result in problems such as the increase of cars on streets which leads to the enhance of greenhouse gases; in addition, this development also can contribute to deforestation since the seeking for houses and spaces to live can reduce the number of green areas around the big place. For instance, New York, which is considered one of the biggest cities in the world, certainly had much more green areas in the past than in the present day and this fact is the result of urbanization; in addition, urban areas present a low quality of air and water when compared to small downtown. In conclusion, the growth of big centres can promote both advantages and disadvantages and these results need to be balanced to build a safe site for the population to live. This essay discoursed why the movement to contemporary metropolis happens and what are the major consequences.