Online, people write product reviews and opinions about services. Is it a good thing or bad thing?

With the rise of online shopping, writing product and service reviews has become a common activity. Customers are eager to know what previous buyers feel about different products and services. This, of course, could have benefits, as well as drawbacks. This essay will explain why writing product or service reviews will be helpful to businesses and customers alike. Posting reviews about products and services provide insightful information to other consumers. For instance, after purchasing a coffee machine, one could write a short review describing possible positive or negative features of the product. If the company is not providing an honest image of the product in their advertising materials, customers can voice out their dissatisfaction, warning others about potential scams or fraud. In addition, nowadays, businesses spend a huge amount on marketing, while online reviews can provide greater user-generated marketing content free of charge. This allows firms that provide excellent services to flourish online. Nevertheless, this practice can impose some minor disadvantages. Firstly, untruthful comments can harm a company's reputation. In the online world, distinguishing between real and dishonest information can be a challenge. To illustrate, competitors in an industry can write negative reviews for a particular service or product in order to decrease its sales. Hence, customers may not be willing to easily trust online reviews. Furthermore, reading an extensive number of reviews with varying opinions may cause bewilderment; therefore, decision-making may be, in fact, more difficult with reviews than without them. In conclusion, writing reviews in online shopping is more advantageous than harmful on the grounds that it provides companies and potential consumers with valuable information that was not possible prior to the internet era.