Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Several people argued that the major environmental issue at the moment is the extinction of special flora and fauna, while others believed that there are more challenging problems militating against our survival. However, in my opinion, the consequences of serious environmental disasters such as global warming and forest fire mishaps which are due to abnormal rises in temperatures ought to be given enough attention compared to the mere eradication of plants and animals. On the one hand, global heating is one of the vital biosphere issues affecting our existence in the contemporary world. This is caused majorly by the burning of fossil fuels and other substances that lead to ozone layer depletion and consequently allowing more heat to reach the earth surface. For example, some countries that are below the sea level will definitely experience natural disasters such as flooding that destroys lives and properties worth billions of dollars. Therefore, this will have a damaging effect on such countries because of inadequate budget and strength to avert such situation. On the other hand, the survival of plants and animals are at stake because of the constant forest fire outbreak. This is due to the rise in the average temperature of those regions over a long period of time. For instance, the Southern Brazil Amazon Forest fires in 2019 causes huge destruction to the ecosystem existing in the area where about 2.3 million animals died and also contributing to climate change and habitat degradation. In conclusion, the predicaments brought about by global warming such as the massive loss of biodiversity has adversely affected plants, animals and humans economically and ecologically as compared to the few countries of the world that would be ravaged by flood. Therefore, it is high time for the government along with the prominent international bodies to take immediate actions to overcome this ugly global trend.