It is quite common for both parents in a family to work. Sometimes this is because they need two salaries to survive whereas other times it is their choice. What are the problems you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and the family life?

There is an adage in my dialect that says one hand can not conveniently carry a load on the head the way two hands woyld carry the same load, it is good if both parents work in the family but it has its own disadvantages also. Firstly,the attention of the parents are divided,the father goes out in the morning and comes back late,the wife does the same thing. The children would be left with little supervision. Children needs to be nutured and cared for,these requires time, a whole time not a divided one. Another problem is because both parents are always working, there will be less bonding time for the family as a whole, the children can not even fully understand what it means to be bonded.We have homes where parents do not even know the kinds of friends their wards keep more or less talk of their favorite tv shows. The children tend to grow apart from their parents even though they live under the same roof. Furthermore,because the kids are left alone to themselves most times,they are automatically licensed to grow independently.They take decisions most times by themselves no matter how irrational those decisions can be. Research has it that children where both parents work are more prone to giving in to peer pressures. Hence you see teenagers being lured by their peers into taking drugs, practicing clubbing and other habits that are unbecoming just because they lack full parental care amd attention.They decide what to do and what not to do. Lastly,the lifestyle of not having both parents around tend to form a fundamental psyche in the kids that once they grow up their homes should be run the way their parents ran theirs, both parents have to work just to make ends meet and the cycle continues for generations unborn. Children learn by what they see,so their own lives normally becomes patterned how they were brought up. Family life has to be complete, and enjoyed,these can not be totally achieved if both parents are working.