You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, technological advancement in communications made people ignore writing letters to their beloved ones. However, some people believe, modern techniques help us to spread the message faster and accurate than by conveying it through postal services. I agree with this statement to a maximum extent and my essay will elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. Firstly, technology made our life easier in the means of communication because its network is widespread and we can eliminate waiting time for a response which is higher in the past. Innovative gadgets made verbal communication also possible whereas the old generation does not have this privilege. For example, there are a number of resources available text, video calls, phone calls etc. because of technology improvement and one can completely rely on these as a primary option. In addition, sending messages by applications on phone are effortless thus there is no need for writing anymore. Secondly, the traditional way of delivering information is expensive when it is compared with emails and other electronic- communication options. Adding to this everyone in the world carries a mobile phone which allows sending details in one click and free of cost, this made traditional letters outdated. For instance, sending a letter to a different country incurs an envelope cost and this might increase depending upon the location whereas by using modern devices it is inexpensive. Finally, smart devices win the race against postal services in the cost factor as well. To conclude, modern communication made our life uncomplicated because of easily approachable, less money-consuming and fully replaced the value of the old way of communication.