Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether pupils need to go to school for learning has become progressively contentious as some argue the Internet has sufficiently supplanted the role of traditional education. In my opinion, whilst their viewpoints seem legitimate, schools are more convincing for education. On the one hand, the most frequently cited rationale for adopting the Internet in education is the greater accessibility to a wide breadth of information. This argument rests on the fact that almost everything today can be found and learned online. For example, this can be most apparently seen in myriad educational videos online, thanks to the advent of numerous online streaming platforms like YouTube and Vimeo. Not to mention a list of online articles and interactive learning platforms, which enable children to explore in their own space catered to their own desires. The accumulated evidence has reasoned why this reform can bring in immense potential for youngsters, who opt to homeschool. On the other hand, albeit conceding the merits presented of education at home, I would still contend that these can be eclipsed by traditional schooling. This is predicated on the assumption that the Internet offers a tremendous amount of information and sources, which have not been vetted preceding going online. For instance, one of the salient illustrations of this can be clearly witnessed in children and minors, who are often misled by wrongful coverage and untrustworthy sources. In this sense, they are more likely to be mentally poisoned with unreliable information rather than educated. Therefore, the prospect of teachers guiding school -age children at school confers a valid standpoint as the teachers can help them process information more critically and check for the authority of materials. In conclusion, the values of homeschool with the use of the Internet cannot outweigh those of traditional learning at school as they do wonders for the pupil's information assessment. In my final thought, educators and caregivers should jointly propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance between home and school education.