In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Using electronic books instead of traditional books on paper has been becoming increasingly common among people in recent years. Although I think that it maintains some obvious harmful consequences, I strongly believe that the advantages of this tendency can outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, choosing to read e- books may have some adverse effects on humans. The first reason is that spending many hours on screen can lead to getting not enough quality sleep. If individuals who prefer reading booklets in their beds before sleeping,choose to replace the paper books with digital ones, they will suffer from sleep deprivation and therefore getting some health problems such as loss of energy and productivity and in some cases getting anxiety and depression. Moreover, electronic books affect negatively eyesight. For instance, many researchers demonstrated that the level of eye discomfort and vision troubles appears to increase with the amount of digital screen use. On the other hand, there are several reasons that why people prefer to read e- books. Firstly, it provides individuals with the ease and convenience of reading. In other words, persons find it difficult to bring booklets with them to any daily activities. In contrast, thanks to this device which provides small and convenient size, individuals become able to read while travelling or in public transportation without any obstacles. Secondly, this gadget can contain multi-media elements not available with traditional books. Therefore, having audio and video in e- books makes reading a fully immersive experience. In conclusion, despite that e- books can lead to few obvious problems, I believe that it provides the best way for reading and the benefits that it brings about can exceed its drawbacks.