Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some commentators state that it is more beneficial to surround ourselves with like-minded people. Those who think otherwise argue that it is important for people to have some friends who disagree with them at times. This debate is more complex than it seems, and the arguments of opposing parties and my own assumption will be elucidated further. Undoubtedly, there are many advantages to have peers who agree with us at all times. First of all, it will eliminate quarrels and disagreements as conflicting arguments will not arise. This in turn leads to efficiency, for example, when planning an event, everyone involved can work together in union for successful execution without having the trouble of disagreeing over certain decisions. Secondly, when having friends who always resonate, one does not need to refrain and share feelings and ideas openly without fearing judgements and gossips. On the contrary, those who presume that it is indisputable to have friends who do not always accept one’s beliefs states that a person can obtain new perspectives and innovative solutions. They argue that if acquaintances always follow with one’s devise, they will never experience different things. For instance, a group of people who have never listened to jazz music will not know of the beauty of it unless someone introduces it to them. Moreover, as the saying variety is the spice of life, it will not be dull to have differing opinions seldomly. To conclude, in my perspective, stronger arguments are in favour of those who claim that men need peers with dissimilar opinions sometimes. If an individual only surrounds himself with like-minded people, there will be fewer conflicts and more productivity, nonetheless, one can learn new knowledge and have a more fulfilling life if there are differing opinions at times.