Nowadays, entertainers get paid more than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive development?

It is acknowledged that a growing tide of entertainment stars such as athletes or songwriters have a higher income compared to politicians,doctors and teachers. This essay will shed light on the causes and explain why I enunciate the idea that this trend has both negative and positive impacts. First, with the proliferation of the Internet, artists such as Taylor Swift or John Legend could easily seize a chance to put up their music videos on social networking websites such as Youtube, which draws people’s attention. With money gained from Youtube owing to the viewers who spend time watching their videos, they could become a millionaire within a short period of time. Second, not only do they earn money from posting videos on social platforms but also from advertising. Since consumers are riveted by advertisements featuring their idols, they tend to purchase those products impulsively. As a result, this situation boosts sales and consumerism so public figures benefit from the contracts. From my point of view, I assume that this trend has both positive and negative impacts. On the one hand, teachers and doctors have great contributions to society and low income may demotivate them,which leads them to anxiety; however, this scenario is not too serious because they are not too ambitious when compared to celebrities. On the other hand, inspirational success stories of great people such as Micheal Jackson who overcame difficulties to follow his passion would set a shining example for millions of young people in the world. In conclusion, public figures stand in an advantageous position in terms of payments due to the advent of technology. This trend has both negative and positive influences on society as a whole.