The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary world, more and more discoveries have been made. Some of them touch our lives, absolutely differing from the simple lifestyle, advancing the quality of life, while others are meaningless inventions that sometimes can be destructive. The objective of this essay is to examine both essential purposes of science, with agreeing that study not only needs to refine the world but also to learn something new. First and foremost, there are a lot of examples of the beneficial impact of science. Despite a myriad of other researches, technologies that turned over our world cannot be overlooked. For instance, mobile phones, which gave us access to the world web, supersonic connection with other people on large distances, and the novel way of leisure and entertainment. In addition, the major idea of science in the amelioration of society can be concluded on the basis that some breakthrough technologies had a dreadful effect on the lives of individuals. For example, the creation of nuclear weapons or guns can clearly show the capabilities of science in destruction that needs to be involved in a more peaceful way. On the other hand, life improvement is not only the last purpose of science. Undoubtedly, discoveries may not have a material or any other effect on humankind. Sometimes, the main objective is to examine something new that may cost millions of dollars, but to reply to the questions of the universe that people have asked since infancy. Moreover, the detrimental impact of weapons that were mentioned before is perhaps exaggerated. According to a survey of Cambridge University, the number of people dead in wars decreased tenfold after the creation of nuclear weapons. To sum up, the chief target of science can be defined dissimilarly due to the vastness of these areas. However, I personally think that there is not one aim of science; it can not only improve existence but also other crucial things to do, like knowing exceptional data.