Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There are growing appeals for playing video games among adults in their leisure time. From my perspective, the main reason is the development of electrical devices that popularize entertainment. Although numerous players help recreations companies profit a colossal amount of money, I reckon that excessive gaming can harm one’s health and establish harmful habits. To commence with, the primary cause of rising interest in games remains their availability. In simple words, with the advancement of technology, video recreations only can be unplayed on computers but are also accessible on mobile phones these days. This means individuals can acquire this type of entertainment more quickly since smartphones are ubiquitous and the effect of social media. For instance, people can download games on smartphones; there are many advertisements on online platforms that encourage them to play. Nevertheless, spending too much time on these activities brings about many consequences to players both mentally and physically. Adding to this negative point, experts have figured out that most people who engage in online play are addicted, especially males. Most individuals were more likely to spend their time interacting, communicating, and being further productive before games ruins their lifestyles with persistent habits. To elaborate, staring at the screen for hours can cause eye irritation, energy drain, memory impairment, and focus ability. When combined with other passive activities such as using social media or playing violent games, the consequences are even more dreadful to dependent players. In conclusion, games themselves are not harmful, and it depends on awareness. If people played with moderate intensity, it would be a tremendous way to satisfy and relax; therefore, it is crucial to consider limitations.