More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different opinions about why people are choosing to be «child-free» today. Some people consider that couples without children are selfish, while others find noble reasons for this phenomenon. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and conclude with my own opinion. On the one hand, childless couples may be too busy building their careers to think about having an infant. Currently, when both male and female are able to choose almost any profession, more and more people are interested in a discovery of their abilities and earning a living. For example, I know a couple where both partners work hard to climb the corporate ladder. If they have a child, one of the parents will probably have to quit his or her job, which neither of them wants. On the other hand, there may be a number of meaningful reasons for those who why some pairs do not give birth to children. First, a lot of countries are overpopulated and that poses a great danger to living beings. It can lead to a considerable depletion of natural resources, as well as increase of deaths. Therefore, in order to mitigate this problem, some people decide to remain childless. Second, the desire for independence is believed another possible reason. Many people need not only personal space, but also the opportunity to achieve their goals. However, this is much more difficult to do when caring for a toddler. In conclusion, although both views have their own benefits, I tend to agree with the second opinion. I think that helping to combat overpopulation, as well as the desire for freedom, are worthy reasons for couples to be «child-free».