Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Many small local shops have been closed in recent years because customers prefer to do their shopping in large shopping centres or malls. In my opinion, this is a negative development as losing local shops in neighbourhood can impact the local community and also unnecessary traffic congestion can happen in city area if everyone starts to do shopping in large shopping centres. Small shops in our neighbourhood help the local community in several ways. Unlike the super market chains, these local shop owners know each and everyone in the neighbourhood. Also, people in local community trust these small businesses as all lives in same neighbourhood. So, there is very low chance for customers to get cheated by business owners. In addition to that, there are a lot of families purchasing their daily essential goods from local shops without paying money immediately and pay them mostly at the end of the month. All of these are possible only in local shops. On the other hand, the trend of people going to buy their all essential goods from a large shopping centre will increase traffic congestion in city side. Although shopping centre appears as a convenient place to buy all essential goods at one place, it may create unnecessary congestion if people start to go and buy one or two items which can be easily bought from local shops. In conclusion, local shops help a lot to local community and there is a good understanding and trust between people in local community and the local business owners so there is a less chance for cheating. Also, if local shops disappear, these large shopping centres can create unnecessary traffic congestion in city area.