Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures and overvalues our achievements. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals claim that the history of human beings has resulted in many discoveries leading to more extensive knowledge. Meanwhile, some people think this opinion discredits the ancient discoveries and is overproud the current inventions. From my point of view, even though each era has its own notable achievements, I would argue that the current discoveries offer more useful and practical knowledge. On the one hand, the ancient era resulted in many basic inventions that changed the world. The people had no clue to develop an advanced technology since the basic theory was undiscovered yet. For example, Sir Isaac Newton found the gravity law by coincidence while he was watching an apple falling from a tree. It then inspired him to develop some Newton laws of force, which became the basic of force equilibrium. Even though it was brilliant progress, it could not help the people to solve many advanced problems at the time. On the other hand, many discoveries nowadays seem to be more advanced because they can be used directly to support many activities. For instance, the utilisation of high-speed internet connections and online social media offers many conveniences to human life. However, these achievements are able and developed by using theory from the previous era. In conclusion, each era has its own discoveries in overcoming the problems. In my opinion, I believe the latest discoveries are more practical and suitable for the current changing world. However, we must not forget the previous era discoveries since they offer the basic knowledge to develop many discoveries nowadays.