There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

It is true that schools tend to assess the performance of students through exams, instead of assessing them continually via assignments. Although examinations in the traditional way are the most reliable method of testing students ’ knowledge, this form also has some drawbacks. To begin with the positives, the main advantage of exams have as a form of assessment is that they are likely to reduce cheating. This is because students often undertake exams with the presence of invigilators, whose responsibility is to prevent examinees from breaking the rules. In contrast, the form of continual assessment may increase the risk of plagiarism because students can copy their assignments from the Internet or other learners. Besides diminishing cheating intentions, conducting exams also promote competition among students. The reason for this is that the results of exams are often used in categorizing students, contributing to students ’ qualifications. Thus, learners need to study hard and prepare carefully in order to a better category. However, assessing students via examinations does present some problems, the most common of which is high pressure. For example, many students are highly intelligent and creative, but when putting them under an exam’s pressure their minds can go blank. Consequently, the brightest candidates may also perform poorly, achieving an unexpected score. Another issue with this method of assessment is that learners can cram for it. As exams are conducted one or two times per semester, learners can start preparing in a window of time before the final day. As a result, some students may choose rote learning or squeeze themselves with a huge amount of knowledge. In conclusion, the planned assessment instead of regular assignment has little room for cheating and increases learning competition, but in turn, this method puts a high strain on examinees and causes cramming among them