Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Some individuals hold the thought that a second language is learned only because of travelling or working abroad. Whilst, another group of people would argue that these reasons are not everyone’s aims of studying a foreign language. These paragraphs will discuss both views and give a relevant opinion about them. On the one hand, the poor situation of the economy and some cultural matters raise the number of migration in recent years. In the other words, this situation encourages many workers to seek job in other countries. In fact, by the deprecation of the national currency, you have to cost a fortune to meet the needs of your life, so many members of the society give up working and searching for a better life in other parts of the world. Plus, travelling always appeals to people, gives them time to relax, and provide an opportunity to experience new things, so many people travel abroad to achieve these goals. On the other hand, it is obvious that many youngsters who want to migrate, learn a second language to continue their studies or to get a scholarship. Actually, the first thing you need to get a VISA for studying is getting a degree in the language of your destination country. Apart from studying, learning a second language helps our brain to function better. It is proved that people who are bilingual or multilingual are at a lower risk of Alzheimer or other brain functional diseases. To summarize, people have dissimilar views regarding learning foreign languages, I agree with those who believe there are many other reasons for learning foreign languages rather than travelling or working.