Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the unemployed should be provided with mobile phones and Internet access, all expenses covered by the state, in order to reduce the unemployment rate. (mention public money). My opinion, however, is somewhat different, as neither those in need, nor the local businesses would benefit from such an approach. Firstly, despite the fact that Internet access is considered one of basic human rights, it neither guarantees employment, nor provides skills necessary to get a proper job. The dreams of people becoming software engineers, musicians or speechwriters are somewhat utopian, as it requires not only a 5G connection and a handheld device, but also a great deal of talent and time to become experienced enough to catch attention (?) of an employer. For example, there are many online courses for web developers, yet those who have taken these courses are highly unlikely to pass an interview and get a job due to an extremely fragmented knowledge. Therefore, Internet access fails to substitute traditional ways of becoming an expert and getting employed. Secondly, in order to address the problem of unemployment, the government should invest public money in local businesses rather than giving away end-user mobile devices to those in need. The rate of unemployment often correlates with the ability of local companies to provide enough jobs. Moreover, a wise policy on small businesses could persuade people to start their own ventures, further reducing the numbers of those seeking the job. For instance, fresh entrepreneurs in Russia are allowed to pay less taxes over a reasonable amount of time; they are also being supported by additional initiatives on a per-region basis. Conclusion! However tempting it is to provide unemployed people with mobile phones and let them solve their own problems, it does not seem to be a good idea in a long term, compared to governmental support for local businesses, including new ones.