Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

More people in some specifically developed nations consider shopping as the most efficient to reduce stress and pressure in the competitive world, which can be driven by more worries and more external factors in consumerism. I firmly believe that this is a negative step, which bankrupts their budget and breaks their future plans. To begin with, civilized citizens have dealt with work pressures, such as job performance, deadline assignments or developed progress, which leads to many mental issues including fatigue, hopelessness and exhaustion. Furthermore, financially necessary burdens have been pressed on their shoulder, near the due date for payment, which requires them to race with the timeline. Lastly, Only by being promoted to higher positions with extraordinary salaries, which allow them care about their relatives and provide a better materialist life for their family. As a result, their higher financial abilities allow them to cover their demands. Besides, these people suffered from external factors in a consumerist society with a materialist culture. Firstly, owning some exorbitant fashionable items not only helps them leave a better impression in other viewpoints but also gives them higher opportunities to become official staff in their desired companies. In addition, these luxury garments facilitate them to integrate into the elite class and achieve validation from their surrounding people. Secondly, advertising has triggered impulsive decision-making in target customers by using some psychological effects in advertisements such as fear of missing out and generating scarcity in some limited product series. From my perspective, I think this is a negative step because of the adverse following influences. Initially, over-focusing on appearance could impact productivity, which is a key determinant in promotion requests. Hence, they become less attractive compared to their colleagues to become senior staff. Moreover, wasting money on unessential productions could result in an insolvency status, which destroys their future plan and creates more distractions from their projects. A financial report has shown that almost all youngsters were insolvent due to their shopping habits. To conclude, the compassion between more depressure and materialism allowed shopping habits to become a leisure activity, which I believe is a negative step.