As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss and give your opinion.

In the light of soaring private car ownership, whether to improve the road infrastructures is still a foremost issue that arouses many controversies. It is believed that upgrading roadway systems should be the government's responsibility to accomodate this increasing demand. While this may true to some certain extent, I contend that individuals should also be accountable for sharing the expenditure with the national government. It is understandable that why some people advocate the idea of using national funding to enhance the public infrastructures. The key rationale is that by advancing the traffic system through government budget, congestion as well as accidents on a regular basis will be reduced. However, such thinking is flawed, as the cost of improving roadways for cars is prohibitively expensive and thus the overspending in this area may result to a shortage in other domains in the long run. To give a clear example, investing a large amount on road systems will make the subsidy for health and education sector be marginalized. As a result, healthcare and learning services will be shift into a high-priced level which inaccessible and unsuitable for the public. Instead of financing road improvements with the sole funding from the governments, I believe that a collective effort of every citizen to share this financial burden is the most effective solution. The justification is that personal vehicles directly contribute to the traffic jams and unexpected collisions. Because of this, the owners should take a full responsibility for mitigating those issues. To this end, new road tolls should be implemented in tandem with imposing a higher taxes on imported cars. The revenue from these policies can be used to broaden narrow zigzagging roads, invest for public transports and redesign damaged signages as well. In years to come, these strategies will fortify road systems and reduce the aforementioned problems related to traffic. In conclusion, while there are some compelling reasons that people embrace to use government investment in roadways, I totally argue that the an Choose an article the an show examples equal share between authorities and citizens will bring more benefits not only for the road infrastructures but also other major fields.