Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Nowadays, technology is playing an important role to connect everyone to a virtual world via social media websites such as Facebook, Orkut, and LinkedIn. However, it is also true that same has the negative effects due to the separation of physical interaction. I strongly agree with this proposal and I shall argue that how its proponents are correct. To begin with, the use of social media has been increasing tremendously since 2012, when Orkut was launched for the first time as the topmost social media website. Before that, individuals used to interact via cell phones and emails. Later on, Facebook came into the picture and won the hearts of the public all around the world by facilitating as the mechanism to post and share pictures and videos of loved ones. Because of this website, long-distance relationships were possible. Also, it assisted elderly and physically disabled people to remain in touch with society. As per a survey conducted by " Harvard University" in 2016, seventy per cent of the world's population is socially active on internet websites,,, however it has also created a physical distance among society. Does the aforementioned is making us socially awkward? In my opinion, it is difficult to express emotions and feeling in words. For example, to feel the love and affection of your child, you have to be present physically. Similarly, couples in a long-distance relationship are less happy as compared to the couples who meet on regular basis, because people can read the facial expression and body language more closely in person. Recently, an article has been published in "The Hindu" newspaper which indicates that relationships via social websites are more prone to be broken as they have a lack of trust. To conclude, Although social media can be a good tool to enhance your virtual network wheres it has also created a physical vacuum in their life. I believe, physical interaction with your loved ones is important as your virtual interactions of social media.