Some people believe that university students should study whatever they like. However, others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ on whether students should be free in choosing subjects of study at universities or be limited to predefined curriculums. While there are strong arguments in favour of this limitation, I advocate the people who believe in free will study. There are several reasons why some people believe in specified fields. Firstly, high-quality education relies on concentration from both universities and students. Imagine a university that can not offer a well-defined chart of courses or a software engineering student who has participated more in science classes instead of technologies. They hardly can be qualified well among their competitors. Secondly, preparing students for their future job is the main goal of higher education. A doctor who is assumed to cure patients needs to be dominant on diseases rather than knowing about philosophy or literature. Finally, the subjects which can be taught are countless. In this fast-moving era which we live in, narrowing the options and focusing on the goals, seems to be more practical. In spite of the above arguments, I support the people who agree that study should be free in the universities. Selecting a major could change the rest of a person’s life. A student who has just finished high school is not ready to decide on a major. Even most university freshmen do not have a true presumption about their majors and job opportunities. Moreover, experiencing different classes could reveal hidden talents or bring back forgotten interests. It is crystally clear that studying a major with both talent and interest is more likely to be successful. In conclusion, although being free in selecting subjects in university has its drawbacks, I believe the benefits outweigh them in the long term.