Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every five years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is true that retaking the driving test once in a while would have many demerits. Although there are some merits by far outweigh them. On the one hand, this could bring some disadvantages. Taking part in the driving exam is a time-consuming process. Although it has a few steps like registering, arranging a time and going for the exam, it takes some days due to its governmental issues. Despite the time for announcing the result and posting your new license. Moreover, the costs are noticeable. Except for the registration fee, there are some hidden costs too. From using leaves for exam day to paying for taxis during the driving prohibition period. Above all, for a person who is driving once in a while being retested is meaningless. Driving in the streets or roads is the real test and if a person has a clear background there is no need for another test. On the other hand, renewing the license could bring some benefits. Firstly, drivers would be more cautious as they know they will be tested in future. When drivers are aware that their skills and background would be reviewed, they would be more defensive. Secondly, there are many detailed rules about traffic and driving which could be forgotten after a while or there could be new rules which are imposed every year. One way to make sure that a big majority of drivers know all the rules is to reexamine them. Finally, passing exams every five years would reassure passengers and the drivers that most of the cars are driven by a high-quality person. In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of retaking the driving test, I consider it to be a positive development overall.