Companies are responsible only for making money for their investors. Therefore, they should not be held accountable for the environmental and social costs of their business activity to society as a whole. Businesses should do no more than concentrate on making profit. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nobody would argue that these days a lot depends on the reputation of a business as the company can maintain its status and clients this way. However, a key question is what responsibility should businesses bear regarding social and environmental costs. I personally believe that businesses should focus on creating profits for themselves, but they also should not forget about their reputation. Firstly, it is impossible to argue that to make a good profit, any business or company needs to be responsible for its social and environmental actions. If a company performs well on a social level, as well as an environmental one, it will have a positive reputation. With a good reputation comes more potential buyers, popularity and loyalty from customers and investors. Secondly, we live in a time of developed capitalism, where every person has the right to establish a company and generate income by any means according to the law. If observing the reputation situation from the legal point of view, law-abiding organizations can do and achieve a lot if they work respecting the rules and regulations, without running into any legal problems with the government authorities. Allowing organizations to focus only on their main product without ethical considerations may lead to a loss of consumer trust and reputation. This business approach may seem advantageous initially, but not for long-term use. Without supporting social and environmental issues, business also loses popularity among the public, so fewer people will recognize and use their services. Therefore, money earned with moral principles and maintaining one’s reputation is a better option in the long run. In conclusion, it is in the interests of the enterprise itself to maintain its reputation. Various promotions in which the company participates maintain its popularity. It is beneficial to maintain positive relationships with customers and make interesting offers in promotions.