Some people believe that the best way to increase the road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Because of rising accident rates, improving road safety is one of the main focuses for many countries. It is often argued that one of the solutions to this problem is to increase the age to get a driving license. Will this solution be feasible? I believe it will for two key reasons that improvement in psychological understanding and more time to learn rules of driving. The raise in driving age for a person will make them able to make decisions properly. As people grow older their, psychological understanding improves, which would help them to take decisions wisely in a crucial situation. A survey of The Hindustan Times, for instance, found that 95% of the people engaged in accidents were of age group 18-20 years. Moreover, at a younger age, human has a high rush of adrenaline, which make them speed up their vehicle when someone over-cross them with speed. Another reason why I agree with this perspective is that it will give more time to be informed about the rules of driving. Since an accident will not only harm the person who is causing it, but also the stakeholder of it, such as family, relative friends, it is important that citizens should make themselves aware of the driving rules of the country. For example, If a person is aware of, what will happen if they do a specific type of mistake, they might not indulge themselves in it. Therefore, an increase in the lawful age of driving will make roads safe for all citizens. In conclusion, all nations should focus on road safety, one of the solutions is an increase in driving age. Indeed, in my view, this will result to decline in road accidents. It is due to knowing the consequences beforehand and also, increase in decision making capability