In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming increasingly common for businesses to highlight that their products are the latest ones in certain ways because of several factors. I, hereby, believe that this trend could be a negative one for some following reasons. On the one hand, the reason why business owners tend to emphasise the fact that their products are new is that they want to let potential buyers gain knowledge about the latest products on the market. It is common for people to have an interest in something that is strange to them because curiosity is the nature of human beings. As an example, people tend to form a crowd in a public space when there is something interesting happening in that place. Therefore, by highlighting the fact that their products are new, people will get excited to know about them. In contrast, this condition becomes a marketing strategy since it allows the sellers to gain massive revenue from selling these goods from the first launch since it encourages people to buy them in the first place. On the other hand, this development could potentially result in some drawbacks. Firstly, the consumers are not well informed about the use or the ingredients of the products, which could be harmful to them. It is essential to give clear information about the products so the buyers will not feel that they are being tricked by the producers. Additionally, an advertisement that only contains information about the new product without giving any details could be a misleading promotion. Secondly, this trend could promote a lavish lifestyle. This circumstance happens because the buyers purchase the things without any further consideration and buy the things based on their feelings of interest. To sum up, the trend of advertising products to inform the public that the products are new becomes a strategy of marketing, yet this development has some adverse effects since it potentially harms the consumers and promotes a wasteful lifestyle. Therefore, I believe that this trend is a negative trend.