Some people think that it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that there should be more public parks and sports facilities built in new towns instead of shopping malls. In my opinion, I totally agree with this point of view for the undeniable advantages such as improving health and enlarging the community. First of all, it is hard to ignore the benefits that public parks and places for sports can bring to people ’s health. Parks are usually built with a lot of benches, trees, and other plants; therefore, the residents can easily get access to the fresh air of nature while relaxing on the benches or under the trees, and taking a walk, as well. This obviously provides people with the chance of doing light exercise to gain better health mentally and physically with totally free of charge. Furthermore, sports facilities are better choices for people who want to have a good quality of sports training. Despite some extra fees, those places have functional equipment and professional trainers, which can help people experience appropriate ways to do exercise. This is likely to result in prolonging the residents’ life span with healthier lifestyles. Additionally, even though building shopping malls are beneficial in some ways, its advantage cannot outweigh the positive aspects of having more public parks and sports supplies. While most people go to malls for shopping only and it seems like they have few interactions with different people for other purposes, people who choose to spend time in parks and sport places tend to be more open and willing to enlarge their circle of acquaintances. In the parks, local people usually have a habit of gathering and sharing small talks while relaxing or taking a walk. This helps them get to know each other easily and have a better understanding of their neighbourhoods. Similarly, people going to gyms or other sport training centres can make friends easily because of their common hobbies in sport and help each other improve in health and training. In conclusion, I wholly support the idea of constructing more public parks and sports facilities because they obviously bring high opportunities for people to gain better health. Moreover, this also helps strengthen community bonding by connecting people together.