In some cities, there are few controls over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, so people can build in whatever style they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In certain cities around the world, there are no guidelines or regulations on the designs of buildings, and constructors can choose whatever style they prefer. Undoubtedly, there are benefits, as well as drawbacks of such loose city design legislations. In my view, the disadvantages are more considerable than the advantages. To begin with, restricting home and company owners to a limited construction style are undemocratic. Individuals like to use different opportunities to express their minds, and architecture is an art form that can be used to express ideas with forms and designs. Therefore, not permitting citizens to build their homes and offices the way they like could mean sabotaging freedom. For instance, Singapore is a modern city filled with masterpieces by renowned architects. If the Singaporean government had restrictive laws on home and office designs, Singapore would not have been a visually outstanding city to visit. Nevertheless, a lack of regulation on building design could result in problematic situations. Firstly, cities that do not have a properly implemented plan lack visual aesthetics thus could look chaotic in near future. Tehran, the capital of Iran, is a great example. This mega- city has expanded significantly over the past few years, and constructions have appeared in an almost mushroom-like way. If one looks at the entire city from a high altitude point, one sees an utterly distasteful view of a crowded city. Secondly, there are practical and legal considerations that need to be taken into account when approving the design of a building. The type of access a construction has on adjacent buildings, the height of the construction as compared to other buildings surrounding it, and safety precautions are examples of these concerns. Therefore, lacking well-rounded regulations on this matter could be disadvantageous. In conclusion, the number of constructions is on the rise globally, and many cities do not oversee the design of these buildings. I support the idea that this can bring about more drawbacks than advantages on the grounds that regulating buildings not only provides a harmonious view to the city but is also vital for the safety of citizens.