Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Few people are of the opinion that, increasing the legal age limit of driving cars and motorbikes is the good way to enhance road safety. But in my point of view, we need to focus on improving roadway infrastructure and create awareness about traffic regulation in order to ensure the safety of travellers. Firstly, to begin with, India's road framework has not developed as per the rapid expansion of urban and rural cities as per the report of Ministry of Transportation. For instance, even in suburban cities like Thane and Kalyan, there are many pocket areas where there are no concrete roads, this leads to potholes on the lanes resulting in accidents. As per reports published by roadway and railway,authorities 75% of newly constructed highways and city lanes are not fit for vehicular movement since they don't meet international quality standards of safety. Hence, it is of utmost importance, that we have a national policy emphasizing on building infrastructure for our driveways. Another reason being lack of awareness related to traffic and driving law is creating problems of security. For example, while driving from Mumbai to Pune on the expressway, I could observe every fourth vehicle breaking the lane order while overtaking other vehicles and not following the speed limit too. These guidelines are not only broken by passenger vehicles but also by heavy vehicles like Trucks and Tempos resulting in daily 10 - 12 deadly mishaps as per the Ministry of Transportation of India. Therefore, it is necessary to teach drivers about protocols of safe driving. To conclude, increasing the legal age won't improve roadway safety unless we don't develop quality framework for roads and people start following all the order and regulations as laid down by the traffic department.