Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be compelled to vaccinate their children against common childhood diseases? or do individuals have the right to choose to vaccinate their children?

A group of people believe that vaccination to minors could have adverse effects, So, they argue that vaccination to children is not mandatory. Though there are some disadvantages like side effects and counter productive nature of the vaccines, there are also some advantages that should be considered before we conclude that vaccination is not compulsory for people below the age of 18. To begin with, Let us consider the disadvantages of vaccinating minors. Firstly, Vaccines mostly come with side effects which is an immune response. However, vaccines are always passed through three or more phases of tests before they reach general human population. During these test phases, scientists and virologists study factors like general and adverse side effects of the vaccine. Secondly, Viruses could also develop resistance to certain vaccines. However, Vaccines anyhow show a positive response increasing the fighting capacity of WBC when an individual gets infected. The real question is if these side effects are sustainable and to what percentage it is safe for the minor population of the country. For example, Some people irrespective of whether they were vaccinated or not got diseased during the COVID pandemic. On the other side of the argument, There are certain advantages that should also be considered. Firstly, Vaccines develop immunity in people to face some of the dangerous viral infections. These include pandemics, epidemics and rare viral diseases. Secondly, Vaccines having adverse side effects always comes with alternate medication to counter them. Finally, Vaccines not only protect an individual from the disease but also prevents the human to human transmission of the infection. For example, I have survived a viral infection during COVID pandemic with ease as my family and I got vaccinated prior to infection which in turn helped ease my suffering and contained the spread of the disease. To conclude, Vaccination not only gives you immunity to a certain disease but also protects your loved ones from it. In addition, Vaccines reach general population only when they pass through several degrees of tests and studies. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and everyone should take jabs at their turn.