Doctors, nurses and teachers make a great contribution to society and should be paid more than entertainment and sports celebrities. Do you agree or disagree?

Since ancient time, the concept stating that a person who brings more benefits to the society should be earned more has been widely accepted around the globe. Therefore, many people believe that occupations like medical experts and academic mentors should have a higher salary compared to entertainment and sports celebrities because their contribution is far more important. This essay will give reasons to advocate the statement about fixing the income of the mentioned jobs. It is undeniable that a person must put huge efforts into studying to achieve the right of working in medical and educational fields. However, despite all those hard work, the average salary for nurses and lecturers is not even enough to spend on their daily expenses, not to mention saving money for their old age. This leads to the situation that many talented young people nowadays are not interested in pursuing these occupations, thus this will significantly reduce the quality of the workforce and negatively affect the future generation. Moreover, compared to entertainment superstars, doctors and teachers are much riskier because their occupations are directly attached to a person’s life. If lecturers are responsible for the development of children, which will eventually determine the future of our society, doctors have to constantly face the risk of making wrong decisions at work, which might cost a patient’s life. Therefore, it is reasonable for the governments to raise their earnings so that they can concentrate on their jobs without worrying about financial matters. In essence, the notation stating that medical experts and academic mentors should have a higher salary than celebrities is something I strongly agree with because of their contribution to the society.