Around the world, it is likely that more adults will work from home, and more children will study from home, as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this will be a positive or negative development.

Owing to the technological advancement, many kinds of job can be done without having to be at the office. Similarly, due to the fact that technology becomes less expensive, students can also study at their house. From my point of view, there are both advantages and disadvantages in this development. I, however, personally think that it will bring about negative development It is apparent that studying or working from home offers more convenience to both adults and children as they do not require to wake up two hours early to get ready and travel to the office or school. Moreover, studying or working from home also allow the family to get closer; the parents have more time to take care of their child since they have more flexible hours. Likewise, the children also have more time to play because they do not have to spend time in the car traveling to school anymore. Nevertheless, working or studying from home also have many drawbacks. One of many drawbacks is despite not having to go to the office from nine to five, it means that the employees have to be ready for work at any time: the line between work and personal life becomes blurred. Similar to studying from home, since the teachers cannot arrange on-site examinations, the student will be assessed from work, which will result in having more homework. Further, for some subjects, such as swimming, it is useless to be conducted online and may affect the learning curve of children in the future. To conclude, it is true to say that working or studying at home can be convenient due to the fact that people can skip the transportation process. However, it does affect badly on work-life balance and also an effect on child’s development is very concerning.