Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. How far do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, the Internet is widely approached in almost all spheres of human life and the educational process is not an exception. To some, this global network is considered a handy tool for students; however, many other think that usage of the Internet should be banned for studying. To the best of my knowledge, despite being a valuable instrument use of the Internet should be limited to some extent. Firstly, the Internet is an essential source of all sorts of information, and therefore, people intensively harness it for various purposes. In the case of the learning process, it provides learners with an enormous amount of data free of charge. Moreover, many information sources there are constantly updated to illustrate the most recent figures. Books are certainly failed in this regard. Take for instance the webpage of the National Statistic Office of the UK. This page is manipulated by many researchers, including me, as a reliable statistical source. Compared with published sources, the Internet is an easily accessible information source exploited by many users. However, the Internet has some negative aspects too. Since there is no stringent control over the information downloaded into the Internet, the accuracy level of most data is argued to be very low. Thus, every user needs to have some expertise to distinguish between true and fake information. In addition, many students tend to copy ready materials, such as essays and research papers and use them as they are. By doing so, vital academic skills (researching and writing) can be spoiled gradually. Therefore, educators should attentively educate students on how to reach and attain trustful data from the Internet and also how young researchers could benefit from materials that have been already available there. In conclusion, although the Internet is a great source of information, schools and universities should train students how to use it for learning purposes. It is hoped that those students will become intensive users of this global network and increase its digital resources with reliable data.