Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that the negative effects of advertising kill the audiences' individuality while leading the similar trends. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint, and I will explain my reasons in this essay. First of all, advertising is a powerful tool of promotion that contribute to commercial purpose. In other words, the companies and influencers spread the same information that prompts the audiences to purchase their products. For example, many owners of commercials would like to use the influence of celebrities which has the effect of "role model". However, many celebrities lead similar fashionable life and brainwashing the public, such as the same value and aesthetic of fashion and lifestyle that popular in social media. As a result, the advertising receivers are prone to purchase the current fast fashion products instead of living an individually and environmentally-friendly lifestyle. Furthermore, commercial advertising influence the public with a strong sense of consumerism. Because of their purpose of making profits, the commerce tends to instil consumeristic values into the audiences to stimulate their desire of shopping. For instance, many luxury brands advertise the symbolism of luxury goods-- status and privilege. Moreover, the land agents also spread the class value of the estate to instigate people's vanity. Therefore, more and more individuals have a mindset that the expensive goods and houses represent the higher living standard and status, along with losing their individual critical thinking abilities and inner beliefs. In conclusion, advertising has the serious influence of spreading the same value, such as the similar aesthetic, and consumerism will lead to greater life. In contrast, I believe that a satisfied life depends on the diversity of an individual's lifestyle, whether it is luxury or simple, whereby "less is more".