In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Taking care of our elders at their declining years is the same as taking care of a child at his growing age. Worldwide there is now plenty of old age homes for senior citizens where professional health care staff is available to take care of them 24 hours. Some people believe that government should fund such homes whereas others oppose this statement and think children are responsible for the expenses of their parents. In my,opinion it is advisable to let children bear the cost of their parents if the case is not exceptional as the government have many other projects to fund. To begin with, there are plenty of other areas that require development and authority can only raise funds for some major projects such as transportation which is a necessity these days.In these,cases it will be burdensome for the state to allot money in old age homes which consist of many senior. However, if families will take care of their senior citizens it will be easier for them to take responsibility for funding a person or two which is feasible and affordable. For example, there is an old age home near my house which charge some amount of money monthly from their family in order to provide services to their veteran. In this,way senior can be with someone of their own age group and receive required health care services without thinking of being a burden on their family. On the other hand, there are some elders who have no family in such cases no one is there to take their responsibility and raise funds for them this could be an exceptional case where the ministry should raise funds by requesting donations.Even in this, case they should not touch the quota that has been allotted for the development of the country.All the authority has to do is include such donations in tax exemption, this will motivate many individuals to donate money.  In conclusion,there are many old age homes and the authority may not be able to fund all of them however sharing the burden with their family and paying for a single person is not that difficult for an individual. Therefore, the family should be the prior option to bear expenses for their elders but exceptions should be given to elders with no family