It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views.

Some folk think that capital punishment is the only way to bring to justice the criminals who have done evil acts. But, there is another faction that believes that life imprisonment is an option to make people think twice before committing these harsh felonies. Here, we will look at both thought processes. Firstly, there are many cases where the felon doesn't show any remorse for their actions. There is no hope for the rehabilitation of such inmates. With the death penalty, anyone would think twice before committing such grave acts. On the other hand, there is a chance that the law may be misused. There can be instances where a person is wrongly imprisoned for crimes and if ordered to the gallows, justice would not be served and an innocent man would lose his life. In Saudi Arabia, a case of wrongful conviction where a man was hanged to death only later to be found innocent. On the other hand, a lifetime in prison gives a chance for the convict to reflect on his actions and turn over a new leaf. If the criminal's behaviour is very good, there are chances where they could get early parole. But, they can influence other inmates when the felon serves time behind bars. In cases where the person is convicted of religious radical movements, the idealogy can be spread when imprisoned. For such people, solitary confinement is advised. A serial killer in the United States was prisoned for life and went on the lead the Church activities in the prison. In conclusion, the death penalty serves as a good tool to keep people from committing evil acts, but life in prison seems to be a viable option in some cases.