Some People Think That Internet Has Brought People Closer Together To what extent do you agree / disagree?

While some people argue that the internet has narrowed / reduced the distance among people, others believe that this has induced further isolation. In my opinion, the internet plays a massive role in bringing people together. In earlier times, long-distance relationships were mere dreams but the arrival of the digital revolution enhanced the closeness among people as they can now communicate with each other in real-time. There are multiple social media platforms that have facilitated this such as WhatsApp, Instagram etc. Now, no matter where you are, you can instantly connect with your kith and kin with just one click. This has been a saviour, for example, in the covid times when everybody was confined to their home and it was this internet, which assisted people to communicate with their friends and family. Therefore, it is logical to say that the internet has strengthened the bond among people. Although the internet seems beneficial, some argue against it as they are of the view that this has led to more separation. According to them, people are relying entirely on communication technology even to share greetings with their near ones who are living next to them. Furthermore, regular community meetings almost never occur these days as most interactions are happening via video conferencing. This led to more fake relationships which are fragile in nature and short-lived. For instance, there is sharing of hugs and kisses through the virtual platforms but it lacks the warmth. Because of this, it is common to say that people are becoming isolated day by day. To conclude, the internet has certainly brought people closer, but it is also causing isolation. It depends on how we use this technology. If online interactions replace real face to face interactions, the internet will only lead to isolation. Hence, people should make a conscious effort to build relations not only online but also off it. They should meet people in person whenever possible and use technology only to increase the frequency of those meetings.