Government should spend more money on education than recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree.

In this contemporary era, it is believed by a few that the system should allocate funds to education rather than on recreational and sports activities. In my opinion, the government approach is in the right direction, because literacy plays an important role to build the character of individuals. I strongly agree with this notion and I shall articulate some agreement points in forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, character building is the basic foundation of a country. Not only does it assist in the strong economic growth of the nation but also aids in forming a safe society. Because of the high literacy rate, people are becoming more and more aware of the benefits of a healthy community. For instance, in an article published in "The Hindu" on September 10, 2020, Kerala has been ranked as the topmost state on literacy statistics. As a consequence, we saw a very less number of covid cases as people were educated who understood the importance of social distancing. Thus, I would urge the government to allocate more education funds for states as well. On the other hand, the states which were spending maximum money on recreational and sports activities are lacking on literacy graph, because of which students are least interested in taking classes and hence, unable to complete their necessary qualification, which results in unemployment. As a result, the crime rate has been increasing at a very fast pace since 2019 in Haryana. To conclude, in my view, the government should be more focused on spending on studies instead of flushing the money on recreational and sports activities. Thus, the government should make appropriate legislation that is mainly targeted at education for all.