Many children today are watching too much tv and become less active rather than in the past What are the reasons of this and what can be done to solve

In recent times it has become clear that more and more children are spending time watching TV rather than doing exercise. The reasons for this problem could be the lack of interest by their parents and lack of motivation. However, to solve this situation the adults should be involved, in order to motivate their kids. It's evident that the time spent by young people doing sports is dramatically decreasing, while that spent watching television is increasing. This is due mostly to lack of interest, in fact, most adults have to work long hours, so they don't mind leaving their kids in front of the TV, instead of spending quality time with them and enrolling them in some courses to do exercise. Moreover, kids feel like they have won, since they can now relax and stay in the comfort of their home. For instance, playing volleyball or football would mean having to interact with other people, and that could be uncomfortable for most children. There are several steps that can be followed in order to fix this situation. Firstly, parents should be more invested in the life of their sons and daughters, and should not allow that they spend more than a set amount of hours using new technologies. Secondly, they should motivate their children more, because they would certainly be grateful for this in the future. In conclusion, there are several causes behind this problem that afflicts today's society, for example, an absence of motivation on their parents' part, although much can also be done to put an end to it.